Ten Red Ravens Receive Honors

Ten Red Ravens Receive Honors

The Red Ravens baseball program received postseason honors for their efforts throughout the season.  The team finished 28-26 overall and a lot of their success came from the ten players that were rewarded.

Jorge Ortiz, Gavin Heltemes, Antonio Culotta, Blake Carroll, Zach Freeman, Damon Jorgenson, Garon Johnson, Hunter McMahon, Brett Mitchell, and Hunter Reed were the players chosen to represent Coffeyville for the conference.

Ortiz was a force for the Red Ravens lineup all year.  The freshman 1B/DH was pitched around all year with teams not allowing him to be the "one to beat them" in games.  Even with the tentative pitching, the freshman from Puerto Rico batted .350 with 12 home runs.  He was two home runs shy of tying Chase Rader for the single season record.  

Heltemes, sophomore from Prairie Grove, Arkansas, was the ace of the staff for two years.  Heltemes set the single season strikeout record in 2017 with 84, then came right back and broke it again in 2018 with 86.  Heltemes was widely known for his pitching ability, being able to locate three pitches for strikes with high velocity.  After a game against Neosho, head coach Steve Murry approached Heltemes saying how glad he was for [Heltemes] leaving because of how dominating he had been for the past two years. 

"These young men were outstanding for us on and off the field.  Our sophomores have done well for us for two years, so having them on this list is deserving of their work," said head coach Jake Martin.  "Then you add our freshmen to the list and it really shows how competitive our guys are.  These guys worked so hard to put up the numbers they did and I am overly pleased with them."

The Red Ravens will be returning four of the ten players who received awards for the 2018-2019.  

All-KJCCC 1st Team
Jorge Ortiz DH; Fr.

All-KJCCC 2nd Team
Gavin Heltemes SP; So.

All-KJCCC Honorable Mention:
Blake Carroll OF; Fr.
Antonio Culotta OF; So.
Zach Freeman IF; Fr.
Damon Jorgenson IF; So.
Garon Johnson RP; So.
Hunter McMahon SP; RS-Fr.
Brett Mitchell C; So.
Hunter Reed 1b; Fr.